64th Victory Day

I think I’ll make a bad reporter. Why? Because Victory Day @День Победы celebration was 2 days ago.

I cant keep up with my postings. So, I think I’ll fare better as a historian. Haha.

Victory day is a grand event here in Volgograd, formerly Stalingrad.

Russian said the Battle of Stalingrad is the turning point of WWII. I am sure Americans will say its Pearl Harbour or Normandy. The Dutch has their say, so does the French, English and Germans.

I think Malaysian has their say too! Maybe they’ll claim that the lousy roads in Tanah Melayu delayed the progression of the Japanese Force, and thus give time to others to prepare their armoury. Who knoes?

Historian are crappers by the way! Haha (no offense)

Here are some of the pictures I took last weekend. 🙂

By the way, all these years, this is the first time I attended the celebration in Mamaev Kurgan. *shameful*

Part (I) : MAMAEV KURGAN

“Ching ming” Russian style. This place is actually a glorified cemetery.

Young Red Army recruit in the making

Cute looking grandpa

If he fought in WWII , he’d be at least in his 80s , a NATIONAL TREASURE now.

This would be those rare occasions a man would proudly receive flowers. 🙂

PART (II):ALLEYS OF HEROES

We got ourselves the fashion wear of the day. Soviet style caps 🙂

The choir group. Sunshine or rain, they will be here every year

Tulips blossom just in time for the celebrations

Solemn faces @ Glorified tree, the one that survived the war.

p/s Anything left intact after the war is considered a treasure here 🙂

I heard one of our student took a pee here once. LOL.

External links

1. Memorials of Volgograd

2. The Mamaev Hill memorial


3.The Stalingrad battle

4.Historical memorial complex

3 responses to this post.

  1. Holy cow! Gorgeous picturrrrrrrrres!!

    Reply

  2. […] comments Gorgeous Ol’Eve on 64th Victory DayMary on Happy Mother’s Dayw1 on Volgames in picturesw1 on Ba Bee Que […]

    Reply

  3. The pictures are very graphic, clear and in a way simplistic. The message gets across well.

    Reply

Leave a comment